What Inspired me for this Animation

For my animation project I will be basing it on a 1950’s style. The following videos have given me inspiration on how to develop it and keep it in that retro fashion.

The video is only relevant til 1:36. The advertisement at the beginning has a great environment which is what I’m looking into doing for my own piece of work. More specifically, the music, colour and cartoon.

This video has common 1950’s style art; sharp, basic, little detailed shapes. It’s most notable in the drawings of the vehicles from 0:05 to 0:20.

This video would be perfect if I were to audience it to children. It’s very basic and simplified. It contains illustrations to help children understand the more complex ideas, but it also does for the things that stereotypical¬†children love, like cookies.

The Pipboy 3000 advertisement is another good example if my animation was for children.

Having an abbreviation in my animation will help the audience remember the information that was told. I have planned to go with this idea.

This video has a strong 1950’s image. If I were to base my project on this, taking away the smoking likeness would be very advisable and appropriate.

This has basic cartoon designs which is common for 1950’s cartoons.

Here is another abbreviation video.

The music in this video is what I’m looking at for my own animation.

This video is only relevant til 0:30. The video gives the 1950’s horror identity. This is an idea I could follow up on.

I like the designs of characters and their clothing in this video. It is a 1950’s style which is what I’m looking for.

In these 7 videos it is a much more detailed way of using the abbreviation concept.

This video also has cartoons I’m interested in.

Leave a Reply

